1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Midway District
  4. »4-H Youth Development
  5. »Favorite Foods Show

Midway District

Midway Extension District #15

Ellsworth Office:
210 N. Kansas
Suite #1, Courthouse
Ellsworth, KS 67439

Russell Office:
309 S. Fossil
Russell, KS 67665

Hours: Monday-Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(Closed for lunch 12-1)

Favorite Foods Show


Enter Your 2024 Recipe Here

The Favorite Foods Show is generally held on the fourth Sunday of January.  

2024 Favorite Foods Show - January 21

It is a FUN, educational experience about the 4-H member's favorite food.  The 4-H member should concentrate of the following:

  • nutritional value of their favorite food
  • nutritional balanced menu
  • suitable for the occasion selected
  • table setting - appropriate for your favorite food
  • knowledge and understanding of food preparation

This is a consultation Based judging, so knowledge is key!!! 

Categories to Participate In:

  • Appetizer / Starter / Snack
  • Main Dish
  • Side Dish
  • Dessert

All you have to do is select your favorite food item, place it in a category, build a meal menu that would include your favorite item, and set the table appropriately for one! 

What you need to bring:

  • Your Favorite Food
  • Copy of the Recipe to be displayed
  • Menu designed by the 4-H member that your favorite food is being served with 
  • Card Table, Table Cloth, and any Center Pieces you wish to use
  • Table setting for one and any utensils needed to serve your Favorite Food

Recipes are required to be turned into the Extension Office, as your entry and also to go into the "Favorite Foods Show Recipe Book".

2024 Favorite Foods Show Map

2024 Favorite Foods Show Schedule

Midway District 4-H Favorite Foods Show Handbook

Favorite Foods Show Scorecard

2023 Favorite Foods Show



Clot Soldan




Kambri Kasper (3rd place), Sasha Robbins (2nd place), and Coy Cook (1st place)


Layken Eck (3rd), Ethan Maske (2nd), and Payton Maske (1st)
Kierra Eck (3rd place), Josey Norris (2nd place), and Teagen Pfeifer (1st place)